top of page
  • phillipsa73

Presidents Annual Report

It is with pride and pleasure I present my annual report for the MCA's 102 season.

Two new clubs joined us this season. Williamstown Colts entered 4 teams and the Victoria Vikings one team. That meant that the association was made up of 104 teams from 37 clubs across 13 grades. All grades were once again one day grades with the Saturday grades playing a three week finals series (semi, prelim and grand finals) and the Sunday grades playing a two week finals series (semi and grand finals). Some 32 clubs were represented when the semi finals commenced and 17 of the clubs played in Grand Finals.


A Grade South Yarra

A Reserve Flemington

B Grade South Yarra B North Royal Park Reds

C Grade South Yarra D Grade Flemington


A Sunday Indigos

B Sunday Power House

B South East Malvern

C Sunday Melbourne City

C South Power House

D Sunday Parkville District

D South Maccabi Ajax

Congratulations to all clubs above, especially South Yarra (3), Power House (2) and Flemington (2) who collected multiple premierships.

The season saw the introduction of PlayHQ to replace MyCricket. Unfortunately the present format of the system creates the need for all volunteers, that is committee members, players and umpires to spend much more of their private time, and in some cases business time, to complete all transactions, especially during the home and away games and all finals. Hopefully in the 24/25 season the system will become more user friendly with current functionality improved to become more easy to use and new functionality added to replace the vast functionality lost that was available in MyCricket.

I wish to thank the executive committee members, especially our two Secretaries Alec Kahn and Rhidian Thomas, for the workload these two portfolios carry, and to Andrew Phillips our Website manager in setting up our new website that was needed due to the decommissioning of MyCricket.

Our Umpies again have supplied to all our games, something that almost no other association can boast. This included player umpires supplied by clubs to neutral games when the Umpires association was short on umpires. Thank you to President Paul Grant for his excellent leadership together with Appointment Officer and Treasurer John Sexton and Umpires Advisor and Observer Paul Balesia for the amount of time that all devote to these portfolios.

The annual presentation dinner was again held at Windy Hill, Essendon Football club in the Premiers room for the 17th year. 170 guests were entertained by our guest speaker Chris Harris from Cricket Victoria with a presentation about his career in cricket and what countries he has had the pleasure of travelling to as part of that career. All awards for Batting, Bowling and Best and Fairest, along with the 13 Premiership shields were presented. The Umpires awards were also presented with Paul Grant winning winning the Umpire of the year and Captains Awards, Steven Cooper the Best First Year Umpire and Mathew Dawson the Most Improved Umpire.

I thank the Clubs committees and captains for their efforts to play cricket in the true spirit of the game under "The MCA Vibe".

Yours in Cricket,

Bill 'Crash' Craddock


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page